• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED WRS571CIDM01 Whirlpool Refrigerator Not making Ice in automatic mode. Can use diagnostic mode to fill and dispense ice.

antix44

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2022
Messages
3
Location
United States
Model Number
WRS571CIDM01
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
1-5 years
HI my Ice Maker stopped working recently, I have Ran Diagnostic mode 44 which results in Being a 2(Harvest cycle off) upon selecting mode 44. One I toggle the SW3 key it switches to a 1(Harvest cycle on) and it put the arm down to check the ice level changes to a 12 and proceed to run/twist the tray to drop the "imaginary ice". once it has twisted the tray and returned the the display will read 22.

When I run diagnostic mode 45 the tray will search for home, then Display stops at 2 (water fill off) once finished. I then toggle SW3(water fill on) display changes to a 3 and it will fill the tray until is it full and then the display will return to a 2.

I have even gone as far as letting the ice freeze after running mode 45, and using mode 44 to drop it into the tray. I f i do it manually it seems to work properly what am I missing? I can not find the other diagnostic mode steps for this model anywhere.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,371
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Here's your ice maker tech data sheet that has troubleshooting in it: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1cM55ONghMG_V99Hdd-ysfueTDjV9Uvsq Is that the one your missing? Or you missing your tech. data sheet?

It also has to be under 8 degrees F for the ice maker to cycle the ice out automatically. Do you have a freezer thermometer you can put in the ice maker compartment to see what the temperature says it is?

Also look page 6 of that troubleshooting guide where it says troubleshooting paths.

Path 1 - If there is ice or water in the ice tray, proceed to Path 1.
Path 2 - If the ice tray is empty, or ice cubes are extremely small proceed to Path 2.
Path 3 – If Path 1 and 2 reveal no issues, proceed to Path 3.

Here's the ice maker for your model:
W10873791 Ice Maker


Jake
 

antix44

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2022
Messages
3
Location
United States
I can't get the display to say "-5" like it says in the Manufacture Reset Procedure. Please see copy and pasted section below.

Path 3 – IM Works During Service, But Not During Normal Operation
If the product works during Service routines (water fills and harvesting), but apparently it is not working as it should during
normal operation, a couple different conditions could exist.
• The consumer may be opening the door too frequently. This will raise the freezer temperature and in addition
delay the freeze timer, increasing time between cycles. Instruct the consumer to minimize door opening for
maximum ice production.
• A faulty RC or FC door switch may be preventing the freeze timer from being satisfied, preventing the IM from
Harvesting.
• The product may have an issue with the Software and/or the User Interface is corrupted.
Check For Faulty Door Switches
Service Diagnostic Step 17 can be used to check the FC door switch.
1) Run Service Diagnostic Step 17.
2) Verify the open and close status displays correctly in accordance with FC door cycling.
3) If displayed FC door status does not reflect actual door status, replace the FC door switch.

Manufacturing Reset Routine
Before replacing the UI, perform the Manufacturing Reset Routine to reset the User Interface and Control Box settings.
1) Unplug the refrigerator, then plug the refrigerator back in.
2) Open FC Door for 10 seconds, and then close the door.
3) Open RC Door for 10 seconds, and then close the door.
4) Simultaneously press and hold SW1 and SW2 for 3 seconds. All UI indicators will illuminate.
5) Wait until the UI displays “-5”
6) Unplug the refrigerator, then plug the refrigerator back in.
7) If the IM is still not working correctly, replace the UI.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,371
Location
Redmond, Oregon
Ok, then seems to indicates the control board is not working properly if STEP 5 is not doing--->Wait until the UI displays “-5”

Here's the control board for your model:
Cntrl-Elec W11035841


Jake
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
134,371
Location
Redmond, Oregon
It also has to be under 8 degrees F for the ice maker to cycle the ice out automatically. Do you have a freezer thermometer you can put in the ice maker compartment to see what the temperature says it is?
Did you check your ice maker compartment temperature with a freezer thermometer TO make sure its 8 degrees or less?

Hate to see you spend $250 on a control board if the 8 degrees or less it needs to cycle automatically is the problem, see what I mean?

Jake
 

antix44

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2022
Messages
3
Location
United States
Sorry I forgot to hit the post reply on the same night I first tried the procedure, the ice maker has been making ice since I tried the procedure. So despite the IO control not outputting the correct information it did still work.
 
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top