• Please note, some of the links on our site are affiliate links (Learn More)

FIXED WTW5100HC1 Whirlpool washer F7E1 code

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimexcursion

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
4
Location
Maine
Model Number
WTW5100HC1
Brand
Whirlpool
Age
1-5 years
Model # WTW5100HC1

Washer will spin for a few seconds on “Sensing” and then show error code F7E1 tachometer. Would sometimes work fine with no code for several cycles but now shows this each time. I have tried the following (in no particular order as this has been a few week process):
-unplugged the washer for 10+ minutes
-checked all wiring that I can. I did find 1 wire chafed through the insulation but still intact. 1 wire broken off terminal but was able to splice back in.
-checked teeth on all actuator components. Good
-checked free movement of agitator and drum. Good
-checked belts and pulley. Good

Whirlpool’s website offers no suggestions other than unplugging it. Their service techs are at least 30 days out and I have to wait on hold for 30 minutes the one time I called.

I have no problem changing parts but don’t want to throw parts at it. I have done everything I have found in this site and on Google with no success.

The actuator is $21 on Amazon so no big deal there just hoping to get some confirmation on the issue.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,973
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Yes, 9 times out of 10 its the shift actuator that is the problem. Also check for any broken wires to the shift actuator.

Here's the shift actuator for your model: Actuator W11481722

Its not a good idea to buy appliance parts on Amazon, as those are aftermarket parts, those are not OEM, even though they may say so. Only appliance parts sites that only sell appliance parts are OEM.:)

I'm attaching your tech. data sheet below, you can verify that by following the steps for F7E1 on Page 9.

Jake
 

Attachments

  • tech-sheet-w11466917-reva.pdf
    4.9 MB · Views: 171

jimexcursion

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
4
Location
Maine
Thanks! I’ll give that a shot tonight. I’m sure that part probably is aftermarket. I just wanted to get the thing running and was focused on that and not the brand of the part, etc. I appreciate the link to both the correct part and the service manual. Thanks!
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,973
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Ok Jim, glad to help.:)

Let us know how it goes.

Jake
 

jimexcursion

Premium Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
4
Location
Maine
Ran through all the tests and everything pointed to the tachometer inside the actuator. Something just didn’t sit right in my head. Tested continuity from control module down to the actuator. Found a wire that was broken inside the insulation on a part that had rattled loose in the past. I appreciate the link to the manual. It definitely made a big difference in diagnosing the problem. Thank you again.
 

Jake

Appliance Tech - Admin
Staff member
Joined
Aug 24, 2004
Messages
135,973
Location
Vicksburg Junction, Arizona
Excellent, glad to hear that's all it was.(y)

Thanks for the update!

Jake
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
If you feel that you have benefited from this site, and would like to show your appreciation.
Top